History Teacher Award

Brian Ham, 2019 History Teacher of the Year picture
Brian Ham

The National History Teacher of the Year is chosen from outstanding history teachers in each state, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and DOD schools. The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.

Nominations for the National History Teacher of the Year can be made by a student, colleague, principal or school administrator familiar with the teacher’s work. State winners are awarded $1,000 and each winning school receives an archive of books and other resources.

To nominate a teacher or to learn more about the award, visit The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. If you have questions, you may also contact National History Teacher of the Year coordinator at nhtoy@gilderlehrman.org or 646-366-9666, x28. You may also contact North Dakota’s state coordinator, Danielle Stuckle, at dlstuckle@nd.gov.

Brian Ham, a teacher at the Dickinson High School, has been named the 2019?North Dakota History Teacher of the Year.



North Dakota History Teacher of the Year Recipients

2019 Brian Ham Dickinson High School
2018 Donna Davidson Center-Stanton Public School, Center
2017 Sarah Crossingham Wishek Public School, Wishek
2016 Kelli Issacson LaMoure Public School, LaMoure
2015 Ellen Ista Kindred Elementary School, Kindred
2014 Colin Kloster Fargo North High School, Fargo
2013 Debra Forward Dorothy Moses Elementary School, Bismarck
2012 Kari Hall Williston High School
2011 Janice Harildstad Carrington Elementary School
2010 No Winner ?
2009 Brent Jiran Schroeder Middle School, Grand Forks
2008 Keith Thompson A.L. Hagan Middle School, Dickinson
2007 Renae Weisenburger West Elementary School, Grand Forks
2006 Carl Oberholzer Fargo North High School
2005 William Landry Grand Forks Central High School
2004 Jeffrey Stotts Devils Lake High School

Resources On Page

    Keep Up To Date With The Latest News From North Dakota Studies